Skip to main content area Skip to main navigation Skip to institutional navigation Skip to footer

Campus Life at Merrimack

CARE Committee

Mission and Description

The CARE Committee is dedicated to the success of each student academically, socially, emotionally, physically and spiritually. The purpose of this committee is to identify and develop a plan for those students that may be experiencing more than ordinary transitional issues and may need a member of the committee to check in or offer assistance in some way.  Through this outreach, it is our goal to make students aware of the resources that are available to them and help them to be successful on Merrimack’s Campus.

The CARE committee meets bi-weekly in an effort to review all cases that are referred to them. Student cases are currently referred by the members of the CARE committee and the Residence Life staff (RDs, ACs, and RAs.) New this semester, any faculty or staff can submit a CARE report for the committee’s review at A CARE report can be submitted for a number of reasons: recent death in a student’s life, illness/injury, emotional struggles, excessive discipline, academic concerns, excessive absences, concerning behavior, aggressive behavior etc.

 In reality, if there is any student concern that warrants some kind of intervention, the CARE Committee should be notified and will review the student’s case.  All students’ names, the names of the reporters and information contained within the report are kept private within the CARE committee.

The CARE Committee is made up of the following members:


Elaine DiVincenzo, Disability Services

Jeremy Gibson, Athletics

Allison Gill, Associate Dean of Campus Life/Dean of First Year Students (Chair)

Diane Griesbach, Hamel Health

Elaine Grelle, Registrar’s Office

Laura Guarino, O’Brien Center for Student Success

Sara Hicks, Residence Life

Fr. Keith Hollis, Campus Ministry

Matthew Isbell, Faculty Member in Communications Department

Carol Leibovitz, International Programs

Jessica Looney, Residence Life

Mary McHugh, Stevens Learning Center

Dean O’Keefe, Athletics

Deputy Chief Dennis Peterson, Campus Police 

Diane Shaw, Academic Enrichment

Suzanne Slattery, Hamel Health

Donna Swartwout, Dean of Campus Life