Philosophy Professor Rose-Mary Sargent, Editor-in-Chief, and Jonathan Ravenelle ’11, Philosophy major and Editorial Assistant, successfully completed work on the inaugural issue of HOPOS that was published May 1, 2011 by the University of Chicago Press.

Jessica Bruso has taken over from Kiara Huntress as Editorial Assistant for the 2015-16 academic year.  Volume 5, issue 2, is now in process and will be published October 1, 2015.

The journal serves as a forum for the many members of the International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science, which began at a Philosophy of Science Association meeting in Minneapolis in 1990.  A formal launch event took place at the June 2010 HOPOS meeting in Budapest, Hungary.  

HOPOS, which appears online and in print, features international, peer-viewed scholarship concerning the history of philosophical discussions about science. HOPOS scholarship is firmly concerned with situating understandings of science within the broader historical and philosophical settings in which they were developed, and against the backdrop of mainstream issues in philosophical thought, covering epistemological, methodological, metaphysical, and moral issues relevant to the growth of our knowledge of the world and human nature.

HOPOS Editor

Rose-Mary Sargent, Merrimack College

HOPOS Book Review Editor

Warren Schmauss, Illinois Institute of Technology.

Menachem Fisch Tel Aviv University
Don Howard University of Notre Dame
Editorial Board
Roger Ariew University of South Florida
Yemima Ben-Menahem Hebrew University
Bernadette Bensaude-Vincent University of Paris—Nanterrre
Giovanni Boniolo Universities of Padua and Milan
Anastasios Brenner University of Montpellier
Pietro Corsi Oxford University
Lisa Downing Ohio State University
Francois Duchesneau University of Montreal
Arthur Fine University of Washington
Michael Friedman Stanford University
Dan Garber Princeton University
Jean Gayon University of Paris—Sorbonne
Niccolò Guicciardini University of Bergamo
Gary Hatfield University of Pennsylvania
Michael Heidelberger University of Tübingen
Gurol Irzik Sabanci University, Istanbul
Martin Kusch University of Vienna
Elaine Landry University of California, Davis
James Lennox University of Pittsburgh
William Newman Indiana University
Thomas Nickles University of Nevada—Reno
Alan Richardson University of British Columbia
Margaret Schabas University of British Columbia
Friederich Stadler University of Vienna
Thomas Uebel University of Manchester