Merrimack career center set as national benchmark

The James W. O'Brien Center for Student Success has been awarded the National Exemplary Career Center of the Year award from the National Career Development Association (NCDA).

The award is given to recognize the outstanding achievement by a career center that promotes continued development and implementation of thoughtful and innovative initiatives for the purpose of personal, professional and career development.

Because this is the first year NCDA has given this award, the distinction sets Merrimack as the standard by which all other colleges will be evaluated when the award is presented in subsequent years, said Samantha Medina, the O’Brien Center’s student success manager.

The O’Brien Center is a full service center providing wrap around personal, professional and career development support to students in preparation for the 21st century workforce. Career development is viewed as a collaborative effort whereby the O’Brien Center actively outreaches employers, faculty, community and alumni as partners in developing students to reach their maximum potential. Among the many positive outcomes of this comprehensive, collaborative model of student support is the first destination data which reports that 98% percent of the Class of 2013 were enrolled in graduate school or employed within 9 months of graduation.

The National Career Development Association was founded in 1913 making it the first, longest running and preeminent career development association in the world. NCDA’s mission is to provide professional development, publications, standards, and advocacy to practitioners and educators who inspire and empower individuals to achieve their career and life goals.

Merrimack College will be recognized at the NCDA National Awards Ceremony in Denver, Colorado in June 2015. This is the first year the National Exemplary Career Center award has been given.

Many thanks to the faculty and students of Merrimack who nominated the O’Brien Center to compete for this prestigious national award, and to the James W. O’Brien Foundation for its generous support.